GET TO KNOW {Michelle Drenckhahn}

.

Our “GET TO KNOW” Series is a way for you to find out more about

THE PERSON ~ NOT JUST THE ART

.



What are you favorite 3 things to do/places to go in the Twin Cities?

I really enjoy walking the trails and lakes in the city.  We are very fortunate to have so much so close and have the walking and bike trails connecting them all.  It truly is a treasure of the city.

My home is my ultimate oasis.  It is the place I am most comfortable.  I grew up in a home where anyone was welcome to stay or visit and I try to make my home the same.  The most important things in life are friends and family, we should share as much as we can with them.

Birchwood Cafe is a place that brings me back to the time I lived by the River after college.  The eatery was one of the first places I found in the city which offered amazing natural foods, a welcoming atmosphere & occasional music.  I love that it is a neighborhood gem, tucked in the residential area of south Minneapolis yet now has such a following and notoriety.  I go there whenever I am back in that area and often make special trips there as well.

.

What are 3 things you can not live without?

Right now I think it is Twitter. If I have a few extra minutes, I am usually checking my phone or hootsuite to see what is happening in the world!

Seriously, I’d have to say….

SLEEP.                                           MUSIC.                                                        PUPPIES.

.

What would people be surprised to know about you?

I am SUPER frugal & can always find another use for anything you bring me & usually do.

.

What is your biggest pet peeve?

When people say they will do something and don’t….JUST DON”T TELL ME YOU WILL!

.

What is your guilty pleasure?

Overall, it has to be musicals and dance movies.  Nothing makes me happier than Dirty Dancing, Hairspray, Rent, Cry Baby, Grease, Grease II (YEP!) ….  I have watched them ALL countless times.

My ALL time favorite is “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun”

.

Who is your favorite artist and why?

I have many. However, being a Kitchen Designer for many years, I have to say Johnny Grey is a true artist.  I am inspired by every one of his projects & often pull out his books for ideas. He is a pioneer in our industry.

My current local fave is Adam Turman. I had the pleasure of working with him and his family in designing their new home last year.  He is genuine, fun & SUPER talented.  I can’t say enough about his character & work!

.

_____________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

